Click to Home

city hall aerial
Info Advanced
Mayor & City Council
City Council consists of a Mayor and six Councillors, who are elected for a term of four years. The Mayor and Councillors are elected at-large, meaning that each person elected represents the City as a whole and not a particular ward or area of the City. According to the Lloydminster Charter the Mayor, Deputy Mayor or a Councillor may not exercise any power or perform any duty or function until that person has taken the official oath as prescribed by the Oaths of Office Act (Alberta).

The Lloydminster Charter outlines the duties of council as:

  • To represent the public and consider the well-being and interests of the City;
  • To participate generally in developing and evaluating the policies, services and programs of the City;
  • To participate in Council meetings and Council committee meetings and meetings of other bodies to which they are appointed by Council
  • To ensure that administrative practices and procedures are in place to implement the decisions of Council;
  • To keep in confidence matters discussed in private at a Council or Council committee meeting until discussed at a meeting held in public;
  • To maintain the financial integrity of the City;
  • To perform any other duty or function imposed on Councillors by this Charter or another enactment or by Council.

The following is a general list of duties that Council undertakes on a regular basis:
  • Initiating, amending and adopting City bylaws;
  • Approving contracts, purchases and agreements;
  • Approval of operating and capital budgets;
  • Determining mill rates for the municipal portion of property taxes;
  • Exercising all discretionary powers of the City, both legislative and executive;
  • Providing policy direction to City administration through the City Manager;
  • Economic development for the City and surrounding area;
  • Stewardship of public assets; and
  • Regulate and control land development within the City limits.

General duties of Mayor

The Lloydminster Charter prescribes that in addition to performing the duties of a Councillor, the Mayor has the following duties:

  • To act as the chairperson at all Council meetings; and 
  • To perform any other duty imposed on the Mayor by legislation.

The Mayor is the Chief Elected Official of the City of Lloydminster and some of the tasks that he or she undertakes are:

  • Contact with other municipal governments regarding shared interests;
  • Meeting with provincial and federal government representatives regarding funding, programs, government initiatives;
  • Active participation in various municipal and provincial groups that share common goals and objectives with regard to municipal operations;
  • Dialogue with residents to ensure that their voice is being heard;
  • Work with administration to achieve the goals outlined by City Council in the strategic plan;
  • Represent the City of Lloydminster at local events; and
  • Develop a comprehensive level of knowledge of municipal operations.

Deputy Mayor

The Charter specifies that Council must appoint a Councillor as Deputy Mayor.

City Council approved the appointments for Deputy Mayor for the year 2017 as follows:
  • Jan/Feb 2017 – Councillor Ken Baker
  • Mar/Apr 2017 – Councillor Stephanie Munro
  • May/June 2017 – Councillor Aaron Buckingham
  • July/Aug 2017 – Councillor Glenn Fagnan
  • Sept/Oct 2017 – Councillor Michael Diachuk
  • Nov/Dec 2017 - Councillor Jonathan Torresan

The Deputy Mayor substitutes in place of the Mayor if the Mayor is absent or unavailable, thereby ensuring that the duties of the Mayor’s office are fulfilled.


Contact Us
Wendy Leaman
Sr. Executive Assistant,
Mayor's Office 


Ph: 780-871-8341
Fx: 780-871-8346